Menu
School logo

Lakeside Primary School

  • Search
  • Translate

Announcement Banner

Class photos Monday 23rd May (Yr 2 Fri 27th May)

Parents
Rhieni

dragonfly logo iconParentmail 21.1.22

Parentmail 21.1.22

 

Dear Parents/Carers,

 

We have again been lucky with the weather this week and the children have been able to spend plenty of time outside in the sunshine. 

 

Thank you to the PTA for purchasing and organising their new storage container in place of the old shed that was at the front of the school.  It was delivered this week, to the great excitement of the children who saw it arrive.  Space is at a premium in school and we’re grateful that the PTA came up with this practical solution (and matched it to the school colour).

 

Year 5 Cycling Proficiency

Next week will be busier at school as Year 5 start their Cycling Proficiency training on Monday.  Look out for a lot more bikes arriving on Monday and leaving on Thursday. 

 

Chinese New Year

Also next week, in celebration of Chinese New Year on 1st February, Chinese Dance workshops will take place over the course of Wednesday and Thursday.  The New Year will be the Year of the Tiger!

 

Covid Update / After-School Football Club

From today, crowds are allowed to return to sporting events and there are no limits on those attending outdoor events.  This means that Football club on Tuesdays can revert to being for Years 5 and 6 – this will start on Tuesday next week (25th January).  Hopefully, the indoor clubs will return to mixed year groups soon.

 

Choir (FP Hall)

Football

Gymnastics (FP Hall)

Monday 24th Jan – Year 6

Monday 31st Jan – Year 5

Monday 7th Feb – Year 6

Monday 14th Feb - Year 5

If a session is cancelled for any reason, it will NOT be replaced.  The dates above are fixed

Tuesdays Years 5 & 6

 

Tuesdays for Year 3

Sam has informed us that due to numbers and restrictions she can only run sessions for Year 3 at present.  Hopefully this won’t be for too long.

HALF TERM BREAK

 

Please don’t forget that next Friday – Friday 28th January – is an INSET DAY.

 

Wishing you all a warm, safe and pleasant weekend.

 

Best wishes,

 

Rachel Mitchell

Headteacher

 

 

Upcoming events

January 2022

  • Weds 26th & Thurs 27th – Chinese Dance Workshops – whole school
  • Friday 28th – Sunday 30th Jan – Big Garden Birdwatch
  • Sat Jan 29th – Friday Feb 4th – National Storytelling Week

 

February 2022

  • Tuesday 1st Feb – Chinese New Year
  • Friday 4th Feb – NSPCC Number Day – wear something to school with a number on it
  • Tuesday 8th Feb - Safer Internet Day.  This year’s theme:  All fun and Games?  Exploring respect and relationships online. 
  • Monday 7th-18th Feb – Year 4 Swimming
  • Friday 14th Feb – Valentine’s Day
  • Monday 21st Feb – Saturday March 5th – Fair Trade Fortnight

 

March 2022

  • Tuesday March 1st – St David’s Day & Pancake Day
  • Thursday March 3rd – World Book Day
  • Sunday March 27th – Mother’s Day
  • Friday 11th – Sat 19th March – British Science Week
  • Friday 18th March – comic Relief Day
  • Monday 28th March – 8th April - Year 5 Swimming

 

April 2022

  • Sat 2nd April – Sun 1st May – Ramadan (exact dates TBC)

 

June 2022

  • Mon 13th – 24th June – Year 3 Swimming
  • Sun 19th June – Father’s Day

 

TERM DATES & INSET DAY/Bank Holidays REMINDER

  • INSET DAY - Friday 28th January 
  • Break up for Spring Half Term on Friday 18th Feb (return Monday 28th Feb)
  • Break up for Easter Holiday on Friday 8th April (return Monday 25th April)
  • Early May Bank Holiday – Monday 2nd May
  • Break up for Summer Half Term on Friday 27th May
  • Bank Holiday Monday 6th June
  • INSET DAY - Tuesday 7th June
  • Return to school for pupils Wednesday 8th June
  • Pupils break up for Summer Holiday on Thursday 21st July
  • INSET DAY – Friday 22nd July

 

Term dates 2022-23

Monday 5th and Tuesday 6th September are INSET DAYS

Pupils return to school on Wednesday 7th September

Motivated, Happy, Imaginative & Caring Community

Top