Menu
School logo

Lakeside Primary School

  • Search
  • Translate

Announcement Banner

Class photos Monday 23rd May (Yr 2 Fri 27th May)

Parents
Rhieni

dragonfly logo iconParentmail 27.01.22

Parentmail 27.1.22

 

Dear Parents/Carers,

 

We wish all our families who are celebrating on Tuesday 1st February, a happy Chinese New Year. If you have any traditional dress your children would like to show us, they are welcome to wear their outfit to school - it would be lovely to see them. Here's a link to a story read by Mrs Williams all about Chinese New Year

https://lakeside-primary-school-cardiff.primarysite.media/media/chinese-new-year-story-1

 

NSPCC Number Day Friday 4th February

Next Friday is NSPCC Number Day in which pupils and staff are invited to come to school wearing something (or everything!) with numbers on it.  We will be collecting money for the NSPCC on the gate in the morning and look forward to seeing some of the ingenious costumes our Lakeside families come up with!  

 

Covid Update

Although Wales moves to Alert Level Zero on Friday 28th January, schools will be keeping all of their mitigation factors in place until half term. This is because there are still high numbers of cases amongst staff and pupils across the City. This means that there will be no change with the indoor afterschool clubs until this point.

 

The isolation period will move to five days in line with the rest of Wales.  If your child tests positive for Covid 19, they must self isolate for 5 days.  If your child has two negative LFTs on the morning of day 5 and day 6, they may return to school.  If either or both of these LFTs remain positive, testing must continue until your child has two consecutive negative tests, or they reach day 10, before they return to school.

 

Big Garden Birdwatch this weekend

A reminder that the Big Garden Birdwatch takes place over the weekend, in which families all over the country record how many birds they see in their gardens and report this to the RSPB.  Use this  link for information https://www.rspb.org.uk/globalassets/downloads/biggardenbirdwatch/2022/bgbw_guide_printable_english_v2.pdf

 

Please remember tomorrow is an inset day!

 

Wishing you all a warm, safe and pleasant weekend.  Look forward to seeing you all back on Monday.

 

Best wishes,

 

Rachel Mitchell

Headteacher

 

 

Upcoming events

January 2022

  • W/C Monday Jan 31st  – 5T Cycling Proficiency
  • Sat Jan 29th – Friday Feb 4th – National Storytelling Week

 

February 2022

  • Friday 4th Feb – NSPCC Number Day
  • Tuesday 8th Feb - Safer Internet Day.  This year’s theme:  All fun and Games?  Exploring respect and relationships online. 
  • Monday 7th-18th Feb – Year 4 Swimming
  • Friday 14th Feb – Valentine’s Day
  • Monday 21st Feb – Saturday March 5th – Fair Trade Fortnight

 

March 2022

  • Tuesday March 1st – St David’s Day & Pancake Day
  • Thursday March 3rd – World Book Day
  • Sunday March 27th – Mother’s Day
  • Friday 11th – Sat 19th March – British Science Week
  • Friday 18th March – Comic Relief Day
  • Monday 28th March – 8th April - Year 5 Swimming

 

April 2022

  • Sat 2nd April – Sun 1st May – Ramadan (exact dates TBC)

 

June 2022

  • Mon 13th – 24th June – Year 3 Swimming
  • Sun 19th June – Father’s Day

 

TERM DATES & INSET DAY/Bank Holidays REMINDER

  • INSET DAY - Friday 28th January 
  • Break up for Spring Half Term on Friday 18th Feb (return Monday 28th Feb)
  • Break up for Easter Holiday on Friday 8th April (return Monday 25th April)
  • Early May Bank Holiday – Monday 2nd May
  • Break up for Summer Half Term on Friday 27th May
  • Bank Holiday Monday 6th June
  • INSET DAY - Tuesday 7th June
  • Return to school for pupils Wednesday 8th June
  • Pupils break up for Summer Holiday on Thursday 21st July
  • INSET DAY – Friday 22nd July

 

Term dates 2022-23

Monday 5th and Tuesday 6th September are INSET DAYS

Pupils return to school on Wednesday 7th September

Motivated, Happy, Imaginative & Caring Community

Top